About Us

Surrey And Beyond Ramblers, usually known as SABRE, was formed in 2011 as a breakaway group from the Surrey Area Weekend Walkers Rambler group and has since become one of Ramblers fastest growing groups. For the past two years we have won the Ramblers Surrey Area recruitment cup for the largest increase in membership in the area, we now have over 200 members. We principally differ from our sister group, SAWW, in that we do not have age banding and we welcome all. We also have walks both at the weekend and in mid-week which suits a wider spread of people.
We originally had a founding committee of just four members; but we now have eight committee members. So that we can continue to develop and grow, we offer walk leader training and encourage new walk leaders from within our own membership.
Until last year we shared a joint walks programme with SAWW. This year all walks are led by SABRE walk leaders. We aim to put on a choice of walks each weekend plus mid-week walks. There are a number of national trails in our area and in the past we have walked the Thames Path, South Downs Way, West Sussex Literary Trail and St Swithun’s Way. This year we are walking along the Shipwright’s Way.
We organise holidays for our members, in 2014 we organised a week’s holiday in St Ives and a week in Newquay both in Cornwall. In 2015 we are organising holidays for our members on the Isle of Wight, the South Coast of Devon and Sedbergh in Yorkshire. We also organise social events including an annual summer barbecue, Christmas lunch and dinner, ten pin bowling and other activities
We are proud that SABRE is a member of the Surrey Area of the Ramblers Association, the national walking charity that protects and helps maintain Britain's footpaths.  As well as having its own website SABRE uses “Meetup” to publicise its walks and to attract new members. SABRE also has its own Facebook page and promotes itself on its own web page on the Ramblers national web site as well as the Surrey Area Ramblers website.


SABRE inaugural walk - Jan 2011

Gruffalo Orig

Alice Holt Forest


At the Annual General Meeting held each November the members elect a committee to manage the group. At the AGM in November 2014 the members elected the following committee:-

Chair - Nigel Woodhead

Secretary - Jeanie Murray

Treasurer - Chris Berry

Membership - Vacant

Recruitment - Derek Bunn

Walk Coordinator - Vacant

General Committee - Clare Spedding

General Committee - Val Sheehan

For help filling in the registration form, place the cursor over the field titles.

Account creation has been temporarily disabled for maintenance. Once the maintenance activities are complete, account creation will be re-enabled



Go to top